A Week to Remember!

Wow, I can not believe that it’s almost been a week since I left the Dominican Republic! I want to go back!

So the first day we arrived I learned the true definition of a “Dominican Minute” but as a class we really got to know each other waiting around, weather it was at Pollo Rey, the airport or a a resort. After a long we finally arrived to Casa Pastora and I could not be more excited to fall asleep and finally go to Batey 50!

So the next day we finally arrived at Batey 50, the children were so excited to see us and we worked so hard on the house and filled in the entire floor. The children is the Batey 50 live a very different lifestyle then children in the United States. A child in the batey 50 I would compare myself too is Abby, is is 1 and a half years old. When I was 1 and a half years old I was hardly around other kids unless it was an organized play date, Abby on the other hand is always be held by older children or running around with different kids on the Batey.

10931370_10153005209278103_9015046144578150582_n

We spent New Years Eve at Church, and it was a new years ever that I will NEVER forget. When we arrived were all separated into different rows. When this happened I was so scared and so nervous I couldn’t sit next to Hannah or Meg or anybody I know. I was very nervous that I was just getting in the way and was being judged. Then I was sitting in a row with all Dominicans and once john powers started talked I felt very welcome and as he spoke of what we were doing, a kid in my row gave me a thumbs up with a huge smile on his face. Once it hit midnight everybody in the row was giving me hugs and then we all started to dance together and I was not expecting that at all. It was so crazy how my mindset went from “wow they hate us” to “YESS THEY LOVE US” the end was so much fun when we were dancing.

Next day on New Years Day, I realized how much of an impact we have made on the people of batey 50, the second I got off the bus mi amiga Keca came looking for me to play, I didn’t think she would remember my name but she did, also her little sister Abby who’s 1 years old ran over to me and gave me a hug and wanted to play the game I played with it the day before, it was heartwarming that I could make such a big impact on their lives in such a short amount of time, we also finished the floor to a house today before lunch it was awesome! Also today one of the women in the batey asked if I could be her boyfriend because she wanted to move to America with me, which was sad to hear because they want to get out of there so bad.

The next day was our last day which was both heartwarming and heartbreaking, we got to make families and special children we got close to happy by giving them gifts, sunglasses and shoes but it was sad because we had to say goodbye (for now 😉) I got very close to two families in the Batey, one of the women gave me her Facebook name, and the other insisted that we stayed and sat down in her home when we came. It broke my heart to leave Batey 50 but I know I will be back one day.

The next day, we visited the Good Samaritan hospital, which was very impressive, I was not expecting a hospital this nice but it was great. After that we went to visit Batey 80, this Batey was very different from Batey 50. The children weren’t as outgoing as Batey 50 and this Batey was so much bigger. I spoke to a lot of the families in this Batey and the amount of children each family had was a lot less then the families in Batey 50. Most of the families I spoke too had only 2 or 3 children and I’m Batey 50, most families had about 8 children. One mother said to me that she would like to have more children but didn’t due to money which was very upsetting to hear. Then we were off to one of our final meals from Tata

The next day we went to the Joe Hartman School, where we got to take a tour of the school and meet all of the students. I was lucky enough to become a sponsor for a one of the kids there. His name is Julio and he’s awesome, I can not wait to help him get an education!

10428647_10153005247648103_145108675640499401_n

After that we had to say goodbye and we were off to spend the next 2 days relaxing at Casa de Campo. I had very mixed feelings about going to the resort, I was excited to go to the beach and tan but I would of so much rather spent more time in the Bateys and with all of my new friends I made.

10931217_10153005218758103_2780050309023687594_n

After the 2 days relaxing we took the awful trip back to the states where every single of one us, wished we were back in the DR with all of our friends we made not only in Batey 50 but also in our QU301 class. Also once we got off the plane I nearly froze to death.

A lot has changed inside of me since I arrived to the Dominican, I realized how lucky we are to be born as americans. I also learned the true meaning of being “Happy”. These people have nothing and are always happy and having a great time, meanwhile back in the US people need more and more. People also need to stop being jealous of each other and just be happy with who they are.

10426864_10153005238703103_9126221588756437591_n
A trip like like this can bring a lot to your education. We learned all about the bateys and the sugar cane industry in class but I learned so much more actually going to the Bateys, meeting the people, helping with building and etc. You can’t learn everything from sitting in a classroom and reading books. Sometimes you have to go out into the world and experience something new and you learn so much from that experience. QU301 is all about the Global Community so the best way to learn about the world is to get your butt out of the desk and travel somewhere new.

-Ant DeC

Leave a comment